Tags

, , , , , ,

20140530-213349-77629370.jpgCrossing the line in Liverpool and thanking Mum & Dad for their help and support from above.

Looking back for a moment at the last five months, there can be no doubt: it’s been a very good marathon season.

In the space of just over a year, I’ve gone from tentatively tackling my first 26.2 to completing the distance twice in the space of six weeks – and both times in under three hours, ten minutes.

First of all, the key highlight – running London Marathon in a time of 3.04.16 and therefore achieving Good For Age and securing myself a place in next year’s race.

However, seeing my sister and long-suffering-ginger complete their own marathons three weeks later was almost as much of a buzz – the sense of pride at seeing them clock up 3.35 and 3.46 respectively was the icing on a very tasty cake.

Having the opportunity to line up in the same pen Greenwich as my older sibling next April will be unique, emotional and the latest step on an incredible journey.

20140530-213349-77629290.jpgFeet up, rascal trainers on. Standard Friday afternoon.

Now that marathon season is over and I’ve purchased a pair of awfully loud trainers to celebrate it, I’m looking forward to some time away from long, slow runs.

Last year I found it hard to watch friends take on a myriad of different events – running, cycling, swimming and occasionally drinking – while I continued to eat, sleep, train, repeat in preparation for Bournemouth in October.

I may still have a crack at a marathon in October because I enjoy the occasion and spectacle of the event, but I won’t be following a training programme to do so.

20140530-213349-77629824.jpgThis is Geoffrey. Named after the butler in Fresh Prince (it’s a Claud Butler bike). And who could be scared of a Geoffrey?

Instead, I’ve already dusted off my goggles and bolted my new pedals to my bike (his name is Geoffrey). Im planning to test myself on a sprint triathlon or two and, ideally, an Olympic distance event before the end of the season.

I have no idea how I’ll fare or even if I’ll finish, but the excitement of training for and attempting a new challenge is glorious.

And in the end, that’s what counts – doing something different, new and, above all else, fun. Who could argue with that for motivation?
20140530-213349-77629540.jpgSam and Sarah after MK marathon and their respective amazing achievements. They look deservedly pooped.