It was proper chilly!

Braving the conditions for a chilly Park Run on a Saturday morning

With the marathon just a tiny dot on the running horizon, I began my efforts in earnest by finally joining the Redway Runners and getting involved with the Sunday morning runs at first.

Every initial run was difficult, but I never felt uncomfortable or out of my depth. The friendly and supportive nature of all involved made it so easy to fit in and enjoy being part of a group of totally different people, all with one aim – to enjoy their running, regardless of age, size or ability. It was a refreshing contrast to the constant humiliation of the football field.

On Christmas day I received my Garmin GPS watch as a fantastic present and my addiction to miles, calories and pacing set in hard. Park Run on Christmas Day, a long run on New Year’s Day and I was into my training for the marathon – the start of an 18-week programme that was a million miles away from the way I saw 2012 in.

Sunday morning run with the Redway Runners

Clocking up the miles on a long Sunday morning run with the Redway Runners

As the weeks passed, the miles clocked up and my confidence in my running grew and grew. Soon I was happy running under 8 minutes per mile for long periods of time, racking up a couple of 20 mile runs in early March, pointing towards a potential PB at MK half.

However, I didn’t account for a nasty bout of gastroenteritis and the chance was missed. I felt gutted – literally – at seeing many friends, old and new, share their photos and times on Facebook and I bitterly wished I had been among them

That failure was compounded by the cancellation of the Oakley 20 mile race and I was starting to feel jinxed, something that only made worse in April when a new Park Run PB (under 20 minutes), followed by a 20 mile run the next day lead to what felt like a sciatic nerve injury in my left hip just 3 weeks before the marathon.

My heart sank with every painful step as it looked that my jinx was continuing and I would again be left on the sidelines.

I rested. I rested some more. And I tentatively took to exercise again after a week off, first in the gym and then finally on the road, clocking up 14 miles on a Sunday just two weeks before the marathon. I’d left it late to start my tapering, but I would have to play with the hand I was dealt. I was nervous about the marathon – not about completing it in the time I had hoped during winter training but about just completing it at all.

After 14 days of minimal exercise but continued appetite – you get used to eating 2,700+ calories a day while burning 700+ – the day of the marathon was just one sleep away. Sunday 5th May felt like Christmas Eve when I was a child, albeit with a lot more carbs!

I prepared my kit, packed my bag and loaded up my utility belt with energy gels. I felt like Batman but powered by Science in Sport.

I woke up on the day itself, smashed back an industrial size bowl of porridge and enough toast to feed a family – by practicing my race-day regime throughout winter training I knew exactly what to consume and when to consume it. I was packed full of energy, free from the recent niggling injuries and ready to tackle the marathon.

My marathon kit all ready for the big day

The first time I’ve ever been prepared for anything – my kit all ready for the marathon