Tags

, , , , , , ,

After something of a quiet spell in terms of events, the end of 2014 has the prospect to be busy, enjoyable and expensive.

Last summer I made something of a promise to myself to take part in a wider variety of events having effectively trained back-to-back for marathons.

Coming back from a 6-week lay-off to drop 11 minutes on my 26.2 PB at Bournemouth in October was an immensely enjoyable and satisfying feeling, but there were times during my training programme where I felt incredibly frustrated watching friends take part in a wide spectrum of races and events that I had to pass on in order to continue following my programme.

Add to that the additional challenge of trying to complete long or intense runs in higher heat and it all made for a decreased overall experience.

This year, I was able to quickly achieve one of my first goals after the end of marathon season, taking part in my first ever cycle sportive in early June. Despite torrential rain and a serious lack of bike training, I absolutely loved it and couldn’t wait for more.

However, as the summer has progressed, I’ve found my efforts somewhat thwarted by what seems to me to have been a woeful season weather-wise. Perhaps, moving forward, I need to develop a bit more of an attitude of powering on despite the conditions – after all, professionals train in all sorts of weather, so why shouldn’t I?

Since the start of June, I’ve taken part in a pool-based aquathlon (swim-to-run), taken my first open water swim – which lead to me buying my first wetsuit and now regularly hitting my local lake for a lap or two – and booked my first triathlon.

I’m really excited about taking on the swim-bike-run as it seems a fairly logical outlet for my current and previously acquired abilities.

When I was a child and teenager, my mum was a high-level swimming coach, which meant that being a member of a club and regular training were a cornerstone of my youth.

At the time, I rarely enjoyed swimming and it seemed to get in the way of my original passion, football, but now I can see that those skills actually put me in good stead now, as despite no formal or regular training, I’m still able to hold my own in the water.

Moving forward, I’m planning to maintain a regular pattern of swim training to maximise my current levels and develop my ability further. The swim stage of a triathlon strikes me as an area where you might not be able to make massive gains, but there is potential to limit energy expenditure through good technique and well-developed strength.

After triathlon number 1 – a sprint distance race at St Neots at the end of August – I’ve got a number of other events pencilled in that are waiting to be booked: an open water aquathlon, two half marathons, a cycle sportive (either 50 or 80 mile, I’m yet to decide), and a standard distance (Olympic), triathlon.

I haven’t yet booked any of the above as I’m waiting to see how the first Tri goes – if it turns out to be a traumatic experience that I never wish to repeat, then it might be back to the drawing back for my future plans.

However, I don’t expect that and I’m hoping to enjoy the day and look forward to the future.

With that mentality in mind, it’s important to me to remember what this is all about: enjoyment.

I get very obsessed with the process and organising of training schedules or sessions; I’m a sucker for statistics, numbers and the ability to chart development. In a sense, this can really take the fun out of training and playing sport, as you’re always pouring over data and searching for new ways to increase performance or achieve more.

I do have clear and achievable goals in mind, for individual events and in the longer terms, but taking it too seriously will make it much harder to achieve those goals by potentially removing the fun and crushing my enthusiasm.

For instance, I’ve already looked at previous results for my upcoming triathlon and started to cross-reference them with my training efforts or personal results. I’ve had to take a step back when doing this and check my enthusiasm, as this is only potentially setting myself up to fail if I don’t meet my aspirations.

Which leads me to my overall conclusion: it’s dangerous to set performance or time-related goals with regards to your early forays into a new sport, event or distance.

As I advise numerous people when taking part in their first running races: don’t go in with a specific time in mind as you never know how you will feel on the day. Just go into it with an open mind to try your best and be proud of your achievement.

The number one goal has to be that you enjoy taking part and remain enthused to do it all again – after all, it’s impossible to improve if you only do something once.

@AndyGardner81

IMG_2005.JPG